For Poetic Justice

Poetry, Prose, Photography

To Dream

16 Comments

O’ bright Moon,
Star of my fantasies,
Of thee I dream.

If you drank steep,
Would you stumble down to me?
Falling from the sky;
Caught by my loving embrace-
Kept tight by my loneliness.

If you slept deep,
Would you roll into my arms?
Safety you would find;
Guarded by love’s lullaby–
Prisoned by my free desire.

Yet she is just Moon–
Barren and without Life
And I am just Earth–
Barren and without Love

But to be drunk,
Is not to have drank–
Thus, I was happy.

And to dream,
Is not to have slept–
Thus, I was alive.

© Copyright – All rights reserved – forpoeticjustice.wordpress.com – February 6, 2013

Author: melindafoshat

Poet, dreamer, philosopher, photographer

16 thoughts on “To Dream

  1. I enjoy reading about the moon, and writing about the moon too!

    • As do I! =)

      • Something very inviting about your new site. Welcome to wordpress–not that I speak for anyone other than myself : )

        Thank you for the visit as well. There is something of the wistful in this.

        And re the moon: For some reason such entries are more often liked. Mine, for example when I write of the rain. This I did not expect; although in retrospect, I do not find it surprising.

      • Thanks so much for your comment! And yes, I think people tend to favor nature imagery (such as the moon and rain) when reading poems. Perhaps they read poetry to attempt to reconnect to that natural peaceful state (which we have lost in the chaos of our hectic lives) that is so easily experienced when one is amongst nature. I think that is why I personally write so many poems of nature myself.

      • I have seen things on wordpress, young Miss, that draw distinctions, and others that find similarity. Although the former often feels more powerful to write, and illicits of the writer great passion; it is most certainly the latter that has more power. Love, passion, beauty, whether of loved ones or nature, or accomplishment, is something all people understand, and are drawn to.

  2. This poem really calls to me. Very intriguing. Keep up the wonderful work!

  3. I came upon this, and you have left me breathless for the third time.

  4. Sometimes I think I write too many poems about the moon, but that’s not possible, is it?
    Thank your for sharing “To Dream”, which in itself unfolded like a budding flower of imagery, but it also reminded me of moon poems by Rumi, of Newton’s falling moon hypothesis, and even of a film trailer I recently saw called “Upside Down”.
    Brava!

  5. This was a lovely piece. The moon is one of my favorite signs.
    Felicia

Leave a comment